Tour to Sviyazhsk island-town, Raifa monastery and the Temple of All Religions


Description

Price: 1100 rubles.

The price for pensioners and children under 14 years old is 1000 rubles.

For children under 7 the excursion is free.

Prepayment is to be made before the excursion.

Booking in advance is necessary.

The excursion lasts 7 hours .

Departure time: every day at 10.00 from Kazan Circus (main entrance).

How to get: “Central stadium” bus stop or “Kremlevskaya” subway station.

An individual excursion with Russian, English, French, German, Turkish, Tatar and other language speaking guides is available at any convenient time.

Sviyazsk  locates 30 km. far from Kazan on a picturesque 62 hectares hill at the mouth of Sviyaga river. This first orthodox town in a Middle Volga river district was founded by Ivan the Terrible in 1552. In a big variety of churches and monasteries you can find those which were created by outstanding medieval architects Ivan Shiryai and Postnik Yakovlev.

This town had been all-russian orthodox sanctuary for some centuries.

You will visit at the excursion:

  • Nikolskaya church belfry, built in 1556
  • Functioning Uspenskiy Monastery and its unique 17-th century frescoes
  • The Sviyazhsk John the Precurser Monastery
  • Tradesmen Kamenevs’ house
  • The Cathedral of the Icon of the Mother of God ”Joy of all who sorrow” , dated by 1898-1906
  • Sergievskaya church built in the end of the 16-th – beginning of the 17-th century
  • Not functioning the Sviyazhsk Trinity Sergius monastery
  • The wooden Church of Life-giving Trinity built in 1551
  • The church of Konstantin and Elena erected in 1551
  • The Christmass square
  • The Illarionov-Brovkin-Medvedev’s house
  • The Lazy Torzhok
  • The stable yard
  • The monument to the victims of political  repressions
  • The convoy team quarters

The Raifa Bogoroditsky Monastery.

This Monastery has a unique centuries-old history. The Monastery’s name  is bound to the same-named Monastery in the Sinai peninsula , founded on the settlement  where Jewish left Egypt for Israel  with Moisey. The monastery is spread along the lake banks surrounded by marvelous centuries-old pines. The architecture of the Monastery is significant as well. The Monastery belongs  to those ones that have been fully rebuilt and  can be specified as a masterpiece of an architecture.

The miraculous Icon of the Virgin of Georgia , being the Monastery’s main shrine, is still famous nowadays and heals the sufferers and believers.

A visit to the Monument-Temple to Warriors , dyed defending Kazan at Ivan the Terrible’s capture.

The Temple of All Religions (outside excursion). This extraordinary architectural complex of buildings which has no analoques all other the world has a great privilege to be the symbol of all religions, cultures and civilizations. 

lunch is 300 rubles per person

 

 

To book